Sex Offender Residency Restrictions

Sex Offender Support and resources, the outspoken offender

Residency Restrictions State By State

Updated 01-09-2021 (Researched by hand. If you notice any errors, please notify me.)

*Please note: Some states have city/community ordinances that differ from statewide restrictions. It may be beneficial to research any living restrictions in your local city. If you need assistance, please contact me.

A 2017 report from the U.S. Department of Justice concluded that there’s “no empirical support for the effectiveness of residence restrictions.” Reformers and experts have tried for years to convince legislators that restrictions are bad policy, given the research and investigations linking them to higher rates of homelessness.

Need more assistance? I offer consulting services for registrants and families.

Alabama, Section 15-20-26

(a) Unless otherwise exempted by law, no adult criminal sex offender shall establish a residence or any other living accommodation or accept employment within 2,000 feet of the property on which any school, including, but not limited to, an elementary or secondary school and a college or university, or child care facility is located.

(b) Unless otherwise exempted by law, no adult criminal sex offender shall establish a residence or any other living accommodation within 1,000 feet of the property on which any of his or her former victims, or the victims’ immediate family members reside.

Alaska

Arizona, Section 13-3727

A. It is unlawful for a person who has been convicted of a dangerous crime against children as defined in section 13-705, or who has been convicted of an offense committed in another jurisdiction that if committed in this state would be a dangerous crime against children as defined in section 13-705, and who is required to register pursuant to section 13-3821 to:

1. If the person is classified as a level three offender pursuant to section 13-3825, reside within 1,000 feet of the real property comprising any of the following:

(a) A private school, as defined in section 15-101, or a public school that provides instruction in kindergarten programs and any combination of kindergarten programs and grades one through eight.

(b) A private school, as defined in section 15-101, or a public school that provides instruction in any combination of grades nine through twelve.

(c) A child care facility as defined in section 36-881.

2. Knowingly establish a residence and reside within one thousand feet of the real property on which the person’s former victim resides.

3. Establish a residence and reside within one thousand feet of the real property on which the person’s former victim resides.

Arkansas, § 5-14-128 (a)

(1) Level 3 or Level 4 offender may not knowingly reside within two thousand feet (2,000′) of the property on which a public or private elementary or secondary school, public park, youth center, or daycare facility is located;  or

(2) Level 4 offender may not knowingly reside within two thousand feet (2,000′) of a church or other place of worship.

California, "2,000 Foot Rule"

Local officials say that while the so-called “2,000-foot rule” is still technically on the books, it’s been unenforceable since 2015, when the state Supreme Court found that the residency requirements as applied evenly to all of California’s convicted sex offenders was unconstitutional:

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, it is unlawful for any person for whom registration is required pursuant to Section 290 to reside within 2000 feet of any public or private school, or park where children regularly gather.

Colorado

No current sex offender living restrictions.

But many cities and counties have local laws prohibiting sex offenders from living within 1,000 feet certain locations, such as school, parks, daycare facilities, churches, and libraries.

Connecticut

No current sex offender living restrictions. Check local ordinances.

Delaware, 2 DE Code § 1112

Any person who is a sexual offender cannot reside on or within 500 feet of the property of any school.

Florida, § 947. 1405 (7)(a)(2)

Florida state law prohibits those convicted of certain sex crimes against a child under 16 years of age from living within 1,000 feet of a school, day care center, playground, park, or other place commonly frequented by children.

That said, certain county and municipal ordinances impose even more restrictive residency requirements. For example, in Miami-Dade County, some registered sex offenders are prohibited from living within 2,500 feet of a school, day care center, park, or playground. The county also recently added “child safety zones” to its ordinance, which prohibits sex offenders from loitering within the 300 feet of schools, day cares, parks, and school bus stops.

Georgia, O.C.G.A. § 42-1-16

(e) (1) If an individual owns or leases real property and resides on such property and a child care facility, church, school, or area where minors congregate thereafter locates itself within 1,000 feet of such property, or if an individual has established employment at a location and a child care facility, church, or school thereafter locates itself within 1,000 feet of such employment, or if a sexual predator has established employment and an area where minors congregate thereafter locates itself within 1,000 feet of such employment, such individual shall not be guilty of a violation of subsection (b) or (c) of this Code section, as applicable, if such individual successfully complies with subsection (f) of this Code section.

Hawaii, Chapter 846E, HRS

Chapter 846E, HRS, does not restrict where a registered covered offender may reside or work. However, certain covered offenders, still under supervision, may have restrictions in their Terms and Conditions of supervision. For example, a judge may order that a registered covered offender may not contact or attempt to contact, directly or indirectly, any minor child, or reside in the same residence with minor children, without permission from the supervision officer. Restrictions may also arise in other circumstances as well.

Idaho, 18-8329

Reside within five hundred (500) feet of the property on which a school or daycare is located, measured from the nearest point of the exterior wall of the offender’s dwelling unit to the school’s or daycare’s property line, provided however, that this paragraph shall not apply if such person’s residence was established prior to July 1, 2006, for a school, and prior to July 1, 2020, for a daycare in existence on that date. This paragraph shall not apply to such person whose residence is established prior to the establishment of a daycare within five hundred (500) feet of his dwelling unit.

Illinois, § 5/11-9.3 (b-5)

(b-10) It is unlawful for a child sex offender to knowingly reside within 500 feet of a playground, child care institution, day care center, part day child care facility, day care home, group day care home, or a facility providing programs or services exclusively directed toward persons under 18 years of age.

Indiana, § 35-42-4-11 (2019)

(1) Cannot reside within one thousand (1,000) feet of:
(A) school property, not including property of an institution providing post-secondary education;
(B) a youth program center;
(C) a public park; or
(D) A day care center licensed under IC 12-17.2;

Iowa, § 35-42-4-11 (2019)

Several residency restrictions were enacted in 2002. An offender convicted of an aggravated offense (sexual abuse in the first or second degrees, or in certain cases sexual abuse in the third degree) against a minor is prohibited from residing within 2,000 feet of real property that consists of a child care facility or school. For other convictions involving minors (and all convictions involving adults) that do not fall under the determination of sexual abuse in the first, second, and in some cases, third degree sexual abuse, these residency restrictions do not apply.

Kansas

Kentucky, § KRS 17.500

(1) No registrant, as defined in KRS 17.500, shall reside within one thousand (1,000) feet of a high school, middle school, elementary school, preschool, publicly owned or leased playground, or licensed day care facility. The measurement shall be taken in a straight line from the nearest property line to the nearest property line of the registrant’s place of residence.

Louisiana, § R.S. 46:1403

The offender cannot establish a residence within 1,000 feet of any public or private elementary or secondary school or child care facility as defined in R.S. 46:1403.

Maine, § 3014

A municipality may prohibit residence by a sex offender up to a maximum distance of 750 feet surrounding the real property comprising:
(1) A public or private elementary, middle or secondary school;
(2) A municipally owned or state-owned park, athletic field or recreational facility that is open to the public where children are the primary users; or
(3) A municipally owned or state-owned property leased to a nonprofit organization for purposes of a park, athletic field or recreational facility that is open to the public where children are the primary users.

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Recent changes as of December, 2019. The previous 1,000 foot rule has been lifted. More information.

Minnesota

Mississippi, § 45-33-25

(4) (a) A person required to register under this chapter shall not reside within three thousand (3,000) feet of the real property comprising a public or nonpublic elementary or secondary school, a child care facility, a residential child-caring agency, a children’s group care home or any playground, ballpark or other recreational facility utilized by persons under the age of eighteen (18) years.

Missouri, Chapters 589, 589.400-426

Certain offenders cannot reside within 1,000 feet of a property line of a school, child care facility, or victim’s residence.

Montana, § 45-5-513

A high-risk sexual offender as provided in this section may not:

(a) establish a residence within 300 feet of a school, day-care center, playground, developed or improved park, athletic field or facility that primarily serves minors, or business or facility having a principal purpose of caring for, educating, or entertaining minors. This subsection (1)(a) does not apply if the residence was established on or before May 5, 2015.

Nebraska, § 130.082

It is unlawful for any sexual predator to reside within 500 feet from a school or child care facility.

Nevada, NRS 176A.410

(a) Reside at a location only if the residence is not located within 1,000 feet of any place, or if the place is a structure, within 1,000 feet of the actual structure, that is designed primarily for use by or for children, including, without limitation, a public or private school, a school bus stop, a center or facility that provides day care services, a video arcade, an amusement park, a playground, a park, an athletic field or a facility for youth sports, or a motion picture theater.

New Hampshire

No current sex offender living restrictions. Check local ordinances.

New Jersey

State Supreme Court ruling struck down local residence restrictions in 2019.

New Mexico

New York

The Sex Offender Registration Act does not restrict where a registered sex offender may live.

However, if the offender is under parole or probation supervision, other New York State laws may limit the offender from living within 1,000 feet of a school or other facility caring for children. For more in depth information, click here.

North Carolina, § 14-208.16

(a) A registrant under this Article shall not knowingly reside within 1,000 feet of the property on which any public or nonpublic school or child care center is located. This subsection applies to any registrant who did not establish his or her residence, in accordance with subsection (d) of this section, prior to August 16, 2006.

(b) As used in this section, “school” does not include home schools as defined in G.S. 115C-563 or institutions of higher education. The term “child care center” is defined by G.S. 110-86(3); however, for purposes of this section, the term “child care center” does include the permanent locations of organized clubs of Boys and Girls Clubs of America. The term “registrant” means a person who is registered, or is required to register, under this Article.

(c) This section does not apply to child care centers that are located on or within 1,000 feet of the property of an institution of higher education where the registrant is a student or is employed.

North Dakota

North Dakota law does not prohibit a low or moderate risk sex offender from living near schools, parks, or daycare facilities unless a condition of probation prohibits it. A high risk sex offender may not reside within 500 feet of a public or nonpublic preschool, elementary, middle or high school.

Ohio, Section 2950.034

(B) If a person to whom division (A) of this section applies violates division (A) of this section by establishing a residence or occupying residential premises within 1,000 feet of any school premises or preschool or child day-care center premises, an owner or lessee of real property that is located within one thousand feet of those school premises or preschool or child day-care center premises, or the prosecuting attorney, village solicitor, city or township director of law, similar chief legal officer of a municipal corporation or township, or official designated as a prosecutor in a municipal corporation that has jurisdiction over the place at which the person establishes the residence or occupies the residential premises in question, has a cause of action for injunctive relief against the person.

Oklahoma, § 57-590

A. It is unlawful for any person registered pursuant to the Sex Offenders Registration Act to reside, either temporarily or permanently, within a 2,000 foot radius of any public or private school site, educational institution, property or campsite used by an organization whose primary purpose is working with children, a playground or park that is established, operated or supported in whole or in part by city, county, state, federal or tribal government, or licensed child care center as defined by the Department of Human Services.

Oregon, 291-202-0040

1) A sex offender classified as a sexually violent dangerous offender (ORS 137.765) or a predatory sex offender (181.765) may not reside near locations where children are the primary occupants or users.

Pennsylvania

1) A sex offender classified as a sexually violent dangerous offender (ORS 137.765) or a predatory sex offender (181.765) may not reside near locations where children are the primary occupants or users.

Rhode Island

All Level I and Level II Offenders are prohibited from living within 300 feet of a daycare establishment or public or private school property. Level III Offenders are prohibited from living within a 1,000-foot radius.

South Carolina, Section 23-3-535

(B) It is unlawful for a sex offender who has been convicted of any of the following offenses to reside within 1,000 feet of a school, daycare center, children’s recreational facility, park, or public playground.

South Dakota, 1.3.C.12

Those required to register as sex offenders may not establish a residence or reside within a “community safety zone”. The community safety zone is 500 feet from the facilities and grounds of any school, public park, public playground, or public pool.

Tennessee, § 40-39-202

(1)  No sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, whose victim was a minor, shall knowingly establish a primary or secondary residence or any other living accommodation, knowingly obtain sexual offender treatment or attend a sexual offender treatment program or knowingly accept employment within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line of any public school, private or parochial school, licensed day care center, other child care facility, public park, playground, recreation center or public athletic field available for use by the general public.

Texas

City-by-city “Child Safety Zone” ordinances that have been challenged recently. For example, in the city of Lampasas, Texas states:

It shall be unlawful for any person who is required by law to register with the Texas Department of Public Safety Sexual Offender Data Base to establish a Permanent or Temporary Residence within 1000 feet of any Child Safety Zone.

Please Note: A state law that was passed in 2017 says that small cities may restrict where registered sex offenders live but must provide an exemption process — a hearing to show that they aren’t a threat, for example — and includes a grandfather clause for residents who lived within 1,000-foot exclusionary zones before the effective date of the law on Sept. 1, 2017, allowing them to stay in their homes.

Utah

Vermont

Virginia, § 18.2-370.3

B. An adult who is convicted of an offense as specified in subsection A and has established a lawful residence shall not be in violation of this section if a child day center or a primary, secondary, or high school is established within 500 feet of his residence subsequent to his conviction.

Washington, 2006 c 131

No current restrictions for people that have completed parole or probation. The Department of Corrections may restrict individuals that are still on supervised release: (More Information)

(1) The association of Washington cities, working with the cities and towns of Washington state, shall develop statewide standards for cities and towns to use when determining whether to impose residency restrictions on sex offenders within their jurisdiction.

West Virginia

Wisconsin, § 980.08(4)(f)(2)

1,500 foot radius around any school premises, child care facility, public park, place of worship, or youth center.

If offense against:

1. “Adult at risk” or “elder adult”: 1,500 foot radius around a nursing home or an assisted living facility.
2. Child under 13 (“serious child sex offender”): May not be placed into a residence adjacent to a property where a child’s primary residence exists.

Wyoming, Section 6-2-320(a)

Section 6-2-320(a) Wyoming Statutes Section 6-2-320 (a) prohibits adult registered sex offenders from being on school grounds or living within 1,000 feet of a school.  That statute includes some exceptions.