Duty To Register Alaska

For sex offender registry consulting services, visit The Outspoken Consultant.

 

AS 12.63.010. Registration of Sex Offenders and Related Requirements.

(a) A sex offender or child kidnapper who is physically present in the state shall register as provided in this section. The sex offender or child kidnapper shall register.

(1) within the 30-day period before release from an in-state correctional facility;
(2) by the next working day following conviction for a sex offense or child kidnapping if the sex offender is not incarcerated at the time of conviction; or
(3) by the next working day of becoming physically present in the state.
(b) A sex offender or child kidnapper required to register under (a) of this section shall register with the Department of Corrections if the sex offender or child kidnapper is incarcerated or in person at the Alaska state trooper post or municipal police department located nearest to where the sex offender or child kidnapper resides at the time of registration. To fulfill the registration requirement, the sex offender or child kidnapper shall

(1) complete a registration form that includes, at a minimum,

(A) the sex offender’s or child kidnapper’s name, address, place of employment, date of birth;
(B) each conviction for a sex offense or child kidnapping for which the duty to register has not terminated under AS 12.63.020 , date of sex offense or child kidnapping convictions, place and court of sex offense or child kidnapping convictions, whether the sex offender or child kidnapper has been unconditionally discharged from the conviction for a sex offense or child kidnapping and the date of the unconditional discharge; if the sex offender or child kidnapper asserts that the offender or kidnapper has been unconditionally discharged, the offender or kidnapper shall supply proof of that discharge acceptable to the department;
(C) all aliases used;
(D) driver’s license number;
(E) description, license numbers, and vehicle identification numbers of motor vehicles the sex offender or child kidnapper has access to regardless of whether that access is regular or not;
(F) any identifying features of the sex offender or child kidnapper;
(G) anticipated changes of address; and
(H) a statement concerning whether the offender or kidnapper has had treatment for a mental abnormality or personality disorder since the date of conviction for an offense requiring registration under this chapter;
(2) allow the Alaska state troopers, Department of Corrections, or municipal police to take a complete set of the sex offender’s or child kidnapper’s fingerprints and to take the sex offender’s or child kidnapper’s photograph
(c) If a sex offender or child kidnapper changes residence after having registered under (a) of this section, the sex offender or child kidnapper shall provide written notice of the change by the next working day following the change to the Alaska state trooper post or municipal police department located nearest to the new residence or, if the residence change is out of state, to the central registry.
(d) A sex offender or child kidnapper required to register

(1) for 15 years under (a) of this section and AS 12.63.020 (a)(2) shall, annually, during the term of a duty to register under AS 12.63.020, on a date set by the department at the time of the sex offender’s or child kidnapper’s initial registration, provide written verification to the department, in the manner required by the department, of the sex offender’s or child kidnapper’s address and notice of any changes to the information previously provided under (b)(1) of this section;
(2) for life under (a) of this section and AS 12.63.020 (a)(1) shall, not less than quarterly, on a date set by the department, provide written verification to the department, in the manner required by the department, of the sex offender’s or child kidnapper’s address and any changes to the information previously provided under (b)(1) of this section.
(e) The registration form required to be submitted under (b) of this section and the annual or quarterly verifications must be sworn to by the offender or kidnapper and contain an admonition that a false statement shall subject the offender or kidnapper to prosecution for perjury.
(f) In this section, “correctional facility” has the meaning given in AS 33.30.901 .